About St Fagans National Museum of History
Explore the stories of the people of Wales and take a walk through history at one of Europe's leading open-air museums.
The Museum stands in the grounds of St Fagans Castle and gardens, a late 16th century manor house donated to the people of Wales by the Earl of Plymouth in 1948.
There are over 50 historic buildings from all over Wales have been re-built at the Museum including a Victorian school, a medieval church and a Workmen’s Institute.
Visit Llys Llywelyn – a medieval prince’s hall, see the Victorian school or pick up some Welsh food from 1920s Gwalia Stores.
Visit the animals on Llwyn-yr-eos Farm or call in to see our craftspeople at work in the smithy, the clogmaker’s workshop and the corn and woollen mills.
Don't just visit history, be part of it!
Get hands on with history in our three new galleries
Join in the conversation in our Wales Is…gallery, or draw inspiration from the traditional crafts in Gweithdy before having a go at making.
Explore the story of Wales at St Fagans, to shape it and share it with others.
Visitor information & facilities:
– Admission is free
– Car parking £5. Free disabled parking
– Disabled toilet and Changing Places facilities
– Free wheelchair hire available on request
– Dog friendly (only assistance dogs are allowed in the historic buildings)
– Baby-changing facilities
– For conservation reasons, pushchairs and prams cannot be taken into the historic buildings
– Please allow at least 3 hours for your visit
– Play area for children
– Y Gegin restaurant, Gwalia tea room and Gweithdy café offer food and drinks
Open daily: 10am-5pm
Except Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year’s Day
Please check with the Museum before making a special journey