Minera Lead Mines and Country Park
There is evidence of prehistoric lead mining at Minera and written records date back to the early 13th century. By the late 18th century, John 'Iron Mad' Wilkinson, Matthew Boulton and James Watt had developed a steam engine capable of pumping out water from deep underground, so making it possible to mine nearly 400 metres beneath the surface at Minera without the danger of flooding. During the mid-19th century, Minera was the centre of lead mining boom and speculators exploited gullible investors keen to profit from the lead and zinc reserves.
The Minera Lead Mines, which closed in 1914, have been preserved so that today's visitors can investigate the geology, social and industrial history of the mines. There's a great view from the top of the Engine House, while down below you can try panning for lead and the Young Prospector's Explorer Trail. The lead mines are also the starting point for the Clywedog trail, an attractive walk through woodland, farmland and along the river Clwyedog to Erddig and Kings Mill.