BBC National Orchestra of Wales: Bruckner 7 at Brangwyn Hall

The Guildhall, Swansea, Swansea, SA1 4PE, Wales

Bach's work has attracted several modern make-overs. The orchestration of his Toccata and Fugue by maverick conductor Leopold Stokowski is perhaps the most celebrated example, taking the organ original into a new dimension. The ebullient D minor keyboard concerto is revisited by harpsichordist Mahan Esfahani before a symphony of magnificent proportions by Bruckner, who was inspired by the scope and spirituality of Bach. A simple idea ascends like a prayer at the beginning and is gloriously transfigured in the symphony's final bars. The work is about that gradual journey to glory.

Johann Sebastian Bach: Toccata and Fugue in D minor (orch. Stokowski), Keyboard Concerto in D Minor (arr. / tr. Esfahani).
Anton Bruckner: Symphony No 7 in E major

BBC National Orchestra of Wales: Joseph Swensen - Conductor, Mahan Esfahani - Piano.

Ticket address:

val=37408&pid=8453392Opens new window