BBC National Orchestra of Wales: Beethoven 9 at Brangwyn Hall

The Guildhall, Swansea, Swansea, SA1 4PE, Wales

Beethoven's symphonic cycle ends with nothing less than a mighty rallying call to all humanity. Its daring and at times outlandish writing has sparked debate ever since its premiere in 1824. Despite that, who can fail to be swept up by his Ode to Joy and vision of arcadia?

Finding the right partner piece for the ninth is always a challenge. Huw Watkins, described as 'one of the most rounded composer-musicians in the UK' (Financial Times) and BBC NOW's composer-in-residence, steps boldly into the breach.

BBC National Orchestra of Wales
BBC National Chorus of Wales

Xian Zhang - Conductor
Clara Mouriz - Mezzo
Allan Clayton - Tenor
Matthew Rose - Bass

Ticket address: